- Both parties must be present together to obtain a marriage license.
- A valid driver’s license, government-issued photo ID, or passport.
- Proof of social security number: If you have been issued a social security number, you must provide either a social security card, W-2 or tax document with the full social security number listed.
- If both parties are 18 years of age or older with no pre-marital counseling: $102.50
- If both parties are 18 years of age or older with the presentation of a 4-hour pre-marital counseling course form signed by the minister or licensed counseling professional who administered the course and notarized by a Notary Public: $42.50
- Cash/Check $102.50 Credit Card adds 2.25% +.25 fee
- A $60 savings is available by submitting a notarized pre-marital counseling Certificate of Completion at the time of application.
- The marriage License is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance.
- Civil ceremonies are not performed at the Fentress County Clerk’s Office at this time.
- Individuals under the age of 17 can no longer obtain a marriage license in the State of Tennessee.
- Individuals who are 17 years old cannot be lawfully married to another individual greater than 21 years of age in the State of Tennessee.
- Individuals that are 17 years of age with special situations or circumstances, should call the County Clerk’s Office for additional information and requirements.
Unable to appear in person:
- If either individual has a physical disability preventing them from appearing in person, the applicant may submit a notarized affidavit found online, obtained from the Fentress County Clerk’s Office to request a form be sent via email. Additionally, a notarized consent letter is required by the attending physician on facility letterhead stating the disabled applicant is alert, oriented and aware he/she is seeking to obtain a Marriage License.
- Incarcerated individuals seeking to obtain a Marriage License, may submit a notarized affidavit found online, obtained from the Fentress County Clerk’s Office or request a form be sent via email. Additionally, a notarized consent letter by the warden or chaplain on facility letterhead stating the incarcerated applicant has been authorized to obtain a Marriage License.
- In the above situations, only original documents accepted
If you have any further questions, please contact us:
Fentress County Clerk